Five Joel Barlow High School students have been named National Merit Scholarship Program Commended Students.

The following Joel Barlow High School seniors have been named Commended Students in the 2024 National Merit Scholarship Program: Jack R. Decker, Siddharth Gupta, Martin Jara, Jackson T. Mendes and Mackenzie Sickinger.

A Letter of Commendation from the school and National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), which conducts the program, was presented to these scholastically talented seniors by Dr. Mario J. Almeida, assistant superintendent and head of school.

About 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the 2024 competition for National Merit Scholarship Awards, Commended Students placed among the top 50,000 scorers of more than 1.6 million students who entered the 2024 competition by taking the 2022
Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).

The young men and women being named Commended Students have demonstrated potential for academic success, according to the NMSC. These students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in the nation. The intention is for this recognition to help broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email