On October 19, Joel Barlow High School welcomed eleven new members to the JBHS chapter of the Tri-M Music Honor Society. This organization is the only national honor society for student musicians in the country and recognizes high achieving students who contribute to their community and school, in particular, the music department.

The new members include Avelina Bellulovich, Emily Bruce, Isabelle Bussolotta, Fabian Hopstaken, Tyler Lakin, Emily Ploss, Soren Rasmussen, Grace Raymond, Carsen Schick, Nicole Spinelli, and Bram Wegener. They were inducted by their officers and fellow classmates, Jackson Bennett, Casey Cummings (not pictured below), Natalie Gilbert, Catie Gutowski, and Genevieve Seanor, as well as band and orchestra director Chris Breault, and choir director Gwynne Wittmann.

New members to the JBHS chapter of the Tri-M Music Honor Society

During the ceremony the audience enjoyed performances by Em Ploss, who sang Tu Lo Sai by Giuseppe Torelli, and by Carsen Schick performing Il Pastore Svizzero by Pietro Morlacchi on flute.

Guest speaker and Joel Barlow alumni Nina Corcoran (Class of 2010) was a member of the first class of Barlow inductees, and discussed with current inductees how formative her years of music education were in choosing her career path. She is an avid flutist, and played for four years in the Joel Barlow High School Concert Band, and took Music Appreciation as a senior. Following graduation from Barlow, she studied Writing, Literature, and Publishing at Emerson College in Boston. Post graduation, she worked as the Music Editor at Boston’s only alt-weekly newspaper, DigBoston, and her work has been published in Rolling Stone, NPR, Wired, Spin, Esquire, and Chicago Magazine, among other outlets. Nina is currently a staff writer for Pitchfork Media and lives in Chicago.

Head of School and Assistant Superintendent Mario Almeida also attended, and attested to the dedication and talent of the new inductees.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email