New bronze grave markers identifying five local Revolutionary War soldiers buried in Union Cemetery were dedicated on Aug. 19 at a graveside ceremony.

For decades the Revolutionary War veterans Nehemiah De Forest, Jared Baldwin, Daniel Silliman, Zachariah Lacey and Stephen Hubbell lay beneath weathered headstones. Now, the small bronze markers installed by the Governor Oliver Wolcott Sr. branch of the Connecticut Sons of the American Revolution clearly identify the men who supported the Patriot cause during the War for Independence.  

Representatives from Easton, the Historical Society of Easton and the CTSSAR spoke at the ceremony. The CTSSAR Color Guard fired a three-volley musket salute.

Elizabeth Boyce, Historical Society of Easton’s curator and researcher, has written about all five men honored during Saturday’s ceremony. Readers can find short biographies of the men on the society’s Facebook page.

To read more about Easton’s connection to the Revolutionary War and the volunteer work of Union Cemetery, see Bruce Nelson’s Honoring the Revolutionary War Veterans at Union.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email