Easton Republicans formally endorsed their slate of candidates for the November municipal election during their caucus on July 22 at the Easton Public Library.

Jeff Parker is the party’s candidate for first selectman. Parker announced his candidacy and filed the paperwork to run for the position in May. In accepting the endorsement of the party, Parker said, “We are in it to win it. We must bring the town back together.”

Kristi Sogofsky is running to retain her seat on the Board of Selectman. Sogofsky has served on the board since 2018.

The Republican slate includes many returning candidates as well as several residents eager to take on official roles in the town.

“The Easton Republican party is proud of our full slate of candidates for the November municipal election,” said Wendy Bowditch, chair of the Easton Republican Town Committee. “Easton is lucky to have such a talented and committed group of people passionate about serving our community. We look forward to communicating with the voters in the coming months and are confident our candidates will serve the best interest of this community.”

Candidates seeking re-election include: Christine Halloran for town clerk, Christine Calvert for treasurer and Krista Kot for tax collector.

The ERTC Nominating Committee interviewed and vetted candidates over the past several months. The committee then presented the slate to the Easton Republican Town Committee for consideration and acceptance. The caucus was the final step in the endorsement process.

The following is the slate of candidates as approved by Easton Republicans for the November 2021 municipal election:

Gerry O’Brien, chair of the ERTC nominating committee, looks on as Jeff Parker, first selectman candidate, signs papers.

First Selectman — Jeff Parker

Selectman — Kristi Sogofsky

Town Clerk — Christine Halloran

Treasurer — Christine Calvert

Tax Collector — Krista Kot

Easton BOE — Jenny Chieda

Region 9 BOE — Todd Johnston

Region 9 BOE — Steve Costantino

Region 9 BOE — Kathy Thompson

Board of Finance — Mike Ring

Board of Finance — Wendy Bowditch

Zoning Board of Appeals — Victor George

Zoning Board of Appeals — Ray Ganim

Library Board — Shari Pearlman

Constable — Anthony Farmer

Constable — Chris Peritore

Constable — Darrin Silhavy

Constable — Raymond Martin III

Board of Assessment Appeals — Adam Bonoff

For more information, go to eastonrtc.org.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

By Kristi Sogofsky

Kristi currently serves on the Board of Selectmen. She also volunteers her time with several youth and community groups. Kristi worked in local broadcast journalism for 20 years as an anchor and reporter.